Bellwether Prize

The PEN/Bellwether Prize, founded and funded by Barbara Kingsolver, was created to promote fiction that addresses issues of social justice and the impact of culture and politics on human relationships. The award is presented every other year to an unpublished manuscript. Algonquin then publishes the book.

2016 Winner
The Leavers by Lisa Ko

2014 Winner
And West Is West by Ron Childress

2012 Winner
Good Kings Bad Kings by Susan Nussbaum

2010 Winner
Running the Rift by Naomi Benaron (4.5 stars)

2008 Winner
The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi Durrow

2006 Winner
Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

2004 Winner
Correcting the Landscape by Marjorie Kowalski Cole (4 stars)

2002 Winner
The Book of Dead Birds by Gayle Brandeis

2000 Winner
Kissing the Virgin's Mouth by Donna Gershten

As an affiliate, I receive a small commission when you make a purchase through any of the above links. Thank you for helping to support my book habits that bring more content to this blog!


Popular posts from this blog

book review: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

book review: Run by Ann Patchett

The Backlist Book Club: The Clan of the Cave Bear discussion