Dayton Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation was established to advance peace through literature. Nominated works should focus on peace:
  • increasing understanding between and among people as individuals or within and between families, communities, nations, ethnic groups, cultures and religions. Works should have enduring literary value and should appeal to a variety of audiences.
  • ending or seeking to end conflict—personal, national or international,
  • establishing concord between and among people, or
  • showing consequences of persons, nations or institutions recklessly disrupting personal harmony or universal accord.
2019 Winner

  • What We Owe by Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde
2019 Runner-Up
  • The Overstory by Richard Powers
2019 Finalists
  • Insurrecto by Gina Apostol
  • Sadness Is a White Bird by Moriel Rothman-Zecher
  • There There by Tommy Orange
  • White Chrysanthemum by Mary Lynn Bracht

2018 Winner
  • Salt Houses by Hala Alyan
2018 Runner-Up
  • Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
2018 Finalists
  • Exit West by Mohsin Hamid
  • Go, Went, Gone by Jenny Erpenbeck
  • Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
  • Spaceman of Bohemia by Jaroslav Kalfar
2017 Winner
  • The Veins of the Ocean by Patricia Engel
2017 Runner-Up
  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
2017 Finalists
  • Barkskins by Annie Proulx
  • Perfume River by Robert Olen Butler
  • The Fortunes by Peter Ho Davies
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
2016 Winner
  • The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
2016 Runner-Up
  • Delicious Foods by James Hannaham
2016 Finalists
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  • Green on Blue by Eliot Ackerman
  • Orhan's Inheritance by Aline Ohanesian
  • Youngblood by Matt Gallagher
2015 Winner  
  • The Great Glass Sea by Josh Weil
2015 Runner-up
2015 Finalists
2014 Winner
  • The Woman Who Lost Her Soul by Bob Shacochis
2014 Runner-up
  • Wash by Margaret Wrinkle
2014 Finalists
  • A Constellation of Vital Phenomena  by Anthony Marra
  • In the Night of Time by Antonio Munoz Molina
  • Someone by Alice McDermott
  • The Cartographer of No Man's Land by P.S. Duffy
2013 Winner
  • The Orphan Master's Son by Adam Johnson
2013 Runner-up
2013 Finalists
  • The Coldest Night by Robert Olmstead
  • The Life of Objects by Susanna Moore
  • The Round House by Louise Erdrich
  • The Yellow Birds by Kevin Powers (4.5 stars)
2012 Winner
2012 Runner-up
  • Nanjing Requiem by Ha Jin
2012 Finalists
2011 Winner
  • The Surrendered by Chang-rae Lee
2011 Runner-up
  • Beneath the Lion's Gaze by Maaza Mengiste
2011 Finalists
  • How to Read the Air by Dinaw Mengestu
  • The Gendarme by Mark Mustian
  • Kapitoil by Teddy Wayne
2010 Winner
  • The Book of Night Women by Marlon James
2010 Runner-up
  • The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
2010 Finalists
  • A Postcard from the Volcano by Lucy Beckett
  • A Good Fall by Ha Jin
  • Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
  • The Calligrapher's Daughter by Eugenia Kim
2009 Winner
  • Peace by Richard Bausch
2009 Runner-up
  • Say You're One of Them by Uwem Akpan 
2009 Finalists
  • The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich
  • Beijing Coma by Ma Jian
  • Telex from Cuba by Rachel Kushner
  • Song Yet Sung by James McBride
2008 Winner
2008 Runner-up
  • Lost City Radio by Daniel Alarcon
2008 Finalists
  • Coal Black Horses by Robert Olmstead
  • The Ocean in the Closet by Yoko Taniguchi
  • Song for Night by Chris Abani
2007 Winner
  • Birds in Fall by Brad Kessler
2007 Runner-up
  • Skinner's Drift by Lisa Fugard
2006 Winner
  • A Changed Man by Francine Prose
2006 Runner-up
  • The Discontinuity of Small Things by Kevin Haworth


Popular posts from this blog

book review: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

book review: Run by Ann Patchett

The Backlist Book Club: The Clan of the Cave Bear discussion