NBCC Award

National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction

2017 Winner
Improvement by Joan Silber

2017 Finalists
Exit West by Mohsin Hamid
The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott
The Ministry of Utmost Hapiness by Arundhati Roy
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

2016 Winner
LaRose by Louise Erdrich

2016 Finalists
Moonglow by Michael Chabon
Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
Commonwealth by Ann Patchett (5 stars)
Swing Time by Zadie Smith

2015 Winner
The Sellout by Paul Beatty (3.5 stars)

2015 Finalists
Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff (5 stars)
The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli (3.5 stars)
The Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra
Eileen by Otessa Moshfegh

2014 Winner
Lila by Marilynne Robinson (2.5 stars)

2014 Finalists
An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine
A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
Euphoria  by Lily King (5 stars)
On Such a Full Sea by Chang-rae Lee

2013 Winner
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

2013 Finalists
Someone by Alice McDermott
The Infatuations by Javier Marias
A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

2012 Winner
Billy Lynn's Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain (4 stars)

2012 Finalists
HHhH by Lauren Binet
The Orphan Master's Son by Adam Johnson
Magnificence by Lydia Millet
NW by Zadie Smith

2011 Winner
Binocular Vision: Stories by Edith Pearlman (4 stars)

2011 Finalists
Open City by Teju Cole
The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides (4.5 stars)
The Stranger's Child by Alan Hollinghurst
Stone Arabia by Dana Spiotta

2010 Winner
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan (5 stars)

2010 Finalists
Comedy in a Minor Key by Hans Keilson (4.5 stars)
Freedom by Jonathan Franzen (4.5 stars)
Skippy Dies by Paul Murray
To the End of the Land by David Grossman

2009 Winner
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2009 Finalists
American Salvage: Stories by Bonnie Jo Campbell
The Book of Night Women by Marlon James
Blame by Michelle Huneven
Lark & Termite by Jayne Anne Phillips

2008 Winner
2666 by Roberto Bolano

2008 Finalists
The Ballad of Trenchmouth Taggart by M. Glenn Taylor
Home by Marilynne Robinson
The Lazarus Project by Aleksandar Hemon
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

2007 Winner
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

2007 Finalists
In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar
The Gravedigger's Daughter by Joyce Carol Oates
Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra
The Shadow Catcher by Marianne Wiggins

2006 Winner
The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

2006 Finalists
Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
The Lay of the Land by Richard Ford
The Road by Cormac McCarthy
What is the What by Dave Eggers

2005 Winner
The March by E.L. Doctorow

2005 Finalists
Europe Central by William T. Vollmann
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
Small Island by Andrea Levy
Veronica by Mary Gaitskill

2004 Winner
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (2.5 stars)

2004 Finalists
Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat
Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst
The Plot Against America by Philip Roth

Popular posts from this blog

book review: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

book review: Run by Ann Patchett

The Backlist Book Club: The Clan of the Cave Bear discussion