Carnegie Medal

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction was established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year.

2020 Shortlist
Feast Your Eyes by Myla Goldberg
Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli
The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates

2019 Winner
The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai (4.5 stars)

2019 Shortlist
There There by Tommy Orange
Washington Black by Esi Edugyan

2018 Winner
Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

2018 Shortlist
Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

2017 Winner
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

2017 Shortlist
Moonglow by Michael Chabon
Swing Time by Zadie Smith

2016 Winner
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen

2016 Shortlist
The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard (3.5 stars)
A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

2015 Winner
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (4.5 stars)

2015 Shortlist
Nora Webster by Colm Toibin (4 stars)
On Such a Full Sea by Chang-rae Lee

2014 Winner
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

2014 Shortlist
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat

2013 Winner
Canada by Richard Ford

2013 Shortlist
This is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz (3 stars)
The Round House by Louise Erdrich

2012 Winner
The Forgotten Waltz  by Anne Enright (4 stars)

2012 Shortlist
Lost Memory of Skin by Russell Banks
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (4 stars)


Popular posts from this blog

book review: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

book review: Run by Ann Patchett

The Backlist Book Club: The Clan of the Cave Bear discussion